

<u>Public Schools of Saskatchewan Announces Student Citizenship</u> Award Winners

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 2, 2023

Public Schools of Saskatchewan today announced its third annual Student Citizenship Award winners at a special ceremony in Regina. The awards recognize initiatives undertaken by public school student groups or classes that support citizenship or character building within their school and community. Three \$1000 awards are presented for Grade 1 to 8 projects and three for high school projects.

"We are proud to celebrate these incredible students and the staff who support them," said Lois Smandych, Public Schools of Saskatchewan executive member and chair of the citizenship awards selection committee. "These projects highlight the great work that is happening in public schools across our province to educate students about both their rights and their responsibilities as citizens of our pluralistic society."

Winners include:

- Douglas Park, Regina Green Team
- Montgomery School, Saskatoon Makers Making Change
- Rendell Park School, Lloydminster Remember Kindness
- Scott Collegiate, Regina Growing Young Movers
- Campbell Collegiate, Regina Stargivers Initiative
- Weyburn Comprehensive School Giving Tree Project

The award presentation ceremony included remarks by the Honourable Dustin Duncan, Minister of Education, and Senator David Arnot, who serves on the Concentus Citizenship Foundation board.

Information on the individual award winners is available on the Public Schools of Saskatchewan website, Twitter feed and Facebook page.

Public Schools of Saskatchewan represents 15 public school boards in the province and advocates for inclusive public education in Saskatchewan.

For more information contact: Norm Dray, Executive Director, Public Schools of Saskatchewan, at publicsection@sasktel.net saskpublicschools.ca